top of page

Baked Falafel

Enjoying the side patio today, with a baked falafel sandwich!

Ingredients:

1/4 cup walnuts

1/3 cup chickpeas, cooked

1/2 red onion, roughly chopped

1 garlic clove

1 tsp cumin

1 handful cilantro

1/2 lemon juiced

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp flaxseed oil

Toppings:

tomato, mint leaves, red leaf lettuce, spinach, avocado, ground flaxseed

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400*F

2. First place walnuts into food processor until crumbled. Add chickpeas, red onion, garlic, cumin, cilantro, lemon juice, and baking powder. Continue to pulse until well mixed. Add oil to help bind ingredients and pulse for another 10 seconds.

3. Form patties and lay on lined baking sheet. Bake in oven until cooked through, flipping halfway through cooking time. I made thick 2" patties, so mine took about 20 mins.

4. I then also fried mine in a tsp of coconut oil to get the outside nice and crunchy.

5. I toasted my glutin-free bun and assembled my patty!


bottom of page