top of page

Raw Pad Thai

Recently I have started looking into some vegan youtube channels to seek out fellow vegans for support. I came across one in particular that I really enjoy watching. Laura Miller hosts a show called Raw. Vegan. Not Gross on Tastemade. She makes vegan cooking look like so much fun! I acually doubled the time I spend in the kitchen experimenting and working with food that I have never prepared before.

One of the first recipes I had to try was the Raw Pad Thai recipe. It was so easy to pull together, and well worth it in the end. I actually added some crispy kale crumbles that I had baked the day before, it does not make my dish raw but it definately added some extra crunch to the salad.

Ingredients:

1 12oz bag kelp noodles

2 tbsp almond butter

1/3 cup tamari

2 garlic cloves

1 onion, roughly chopped

2 tbsp maple syrup

1 tbsp chili flakes

1 lime, juiced

Toppings:

scallions, cilantro, black sesame seeds, crushed almonds, crispy kale chips

Directions:

1. To 'cook' the kelp noodles, submerge them in a bowl of water and soak for 20 mins.

2. Add to the food processor the almond butter, tamari, garlic, onion, maple syrup, chili flakes, and lime juice. Blend until smooth, 10-20 seconds

3. Drain kelp noodles and mix in pad thai sauce until completely coated. Let sit for 5 mins so the kelp noodles soak up some of the sauce.

To serve: Fork kelp noodles onto desired plate and top with scallions, cilantro, black sesame seeds, crushed almonds, and crispy kale chips.


bottom of page